VSO New Music Festival & Spring concert announcement!

well hello! and Happy New Year from Standing Wave

We have some news for you. This Thursday January 15 we’ll be kicking off the second annual VSO New Music Festival. This is an exciting celebration of New Music and we are thrilled to be part of the festival again this year. The programme features Nicole Lizée‘s Sculptress, an ode to the 1960’s BBC Radiophonic Workshop and nocturnal soundscape pioneer Delia Derbyshire; and Jocelyn Morlock‘s Theft (Water Clocks, Insomnia) – music loosely based on the feeling of panic and fascination that ensues when you hear the birds start to sing loudly in the morning after you’ve been up all night. There will also be pieces by Claude Vivier, John Luther Adams and Steve Reich’s DOUBLE SEXTET!

See? It’s big. We hope you can join us – visit the VSO site for info on purchasing festival passes and tickets. Click here.

This is a good time to announce our Spring concert too. Mark your calendars!

Toward Chaos – Sunday May 17, 2015 at Pyatt Hall
Viral videos, identical glass and metal condo towers, genetically engineered food…are we being dully indoctrinated into a meaningless and sterile eternity? All that anxiety melts away when there’s life-affirming, fascinating music to experience! Standing Wave’s spring concert Toward Chaos will feature Nicole Lizée’s award-winning Hitchcock Études, Edward Top’s arrangement of the thrash metal classic Angel of Death, along with seminal works by Phillip Glass and Bent Sorensen. We’ll also premiere a new work that will straddle the border of chaos and order by Alfredo Santa Ana!

VSO New Music Fest 2015


Scroll to top