About Standing Wave – short

Standing Wave


Made up of six of Vancouver’s most sought-after musical multitaskers, Standing Wave is dedicated to commissioning and performing contemporary chamber music by Canadian and International composers. The group’s six members—flutist Christie Reside, clarinettist Anne-Katherine Coope, violinist Rebecca Whitling, cellist Peggy Lee, pianist Allen Stiles, and percussionist Vern Griffiths—venture into a wide array of musical worlds with passion and assurance. From the intricate complexities of the music of Howard Bashaw and Chris Paul Harman, to the bold avant-garde jazz of Tony Wilson, and the anarchic electroacoustic imaginings of Giorgio Magnanensi, the ensemble has commissioned and premiered over 80 works in its 25 year history.

Since its formation in 1991, Standing Wave has presented an annual season of concerts in Vancouver, has toured across Canada, and been featured as part of the Vancouver New Music Festival, the Victoria Symphony’s New Currents Festival, and the Vancouver International Jazz Festival.  In 2014, 2015 and 2016, Standing Wave performed the opening concerts of the annual VSO New Music Festivals; the ensemble performed the festival’s closing concert in 2017.  In 2011, Standing Wave was the ensemble in residence at Vancouver Pro Musica’s Sonic Boom Festival, and was featured over three nights at Vancouver’s International PuSh Festival, performing ALL, the ensemble’s multimedia collaboration with award-winning filmmaker Mina Shum.  Standing Wave has released four CDs: New Wave (2017),  Liquid States (2013), Redline (2007), and a self-titled recording (1991). The ensemble has been recorded many times for CBC Radio; the ensemble’s November 29, 2010 and May 31, 2011 concerts were each broadcast on CBC’s The Signal.  Since 2003, Standing Wave has been an Ensemble in Residence at the UBC School of Music.